

CISA CYBERSECURITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE FACTSHEET

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) Cybersecurity Advisory Committee provides the CISA Director with recommendations on matters related to the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, planning, and training pertaining to the cybersecurity mission of the Agency.

Background

The National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2021, P.L. 116-283 (https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/6395/text) directed the Secretary of Homeland Security to establish a Cybersecurity Advisory Committee within CISA. The Committee was formally established in June 2021.

Purpose

The CISA Cybersecurity Advisory Committee provides independent, strategic, and actionable consensus recommendations to the CISA Director on a range of cybersecurity issues, topics, and challenges, including but not limited to: information exchange; critical infrastructure; risk management; and public and private partnerships. The CISA Cybersecurity Advisory Committee meets at least twice per year to discuss its activities.

Composition

The CISA Director may appoint up to 35 members to the Committee. CISA's Director, Jen Easterly, has appointed 23 members to the Committee and will appoint future members to represent additional perspectives and expertise. Members are appointed for two year terms and can be reappointed for an unlimited number of terms. The Committee Chair and Vice Chair each serve for a term of two years.

Past Activities

Mr. Thomas Fanning, Executive Chairman of Southern Company, completed his term as the Committee's Chair on November 30, 2023. The Committee's Vice Chair, Mr. Ron Green, Mastercard Fellow, was elected to serve as the Committee's Chair effective December 1, 2023. Mr. Dave DeWalt, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, NightDragon, was elected to serve as the Committee's Vice Chair effective December 1, 2023. In 2023, the CSAC held 4 quarterly meetings and 87 subcommittee meetings and provided CISA's Director with 135 recommendations to keep CISA well-positioned to address threats in a rapidly changing cybersecurity landscape.

Current Activities

The Director tasked the Committee to examine five topics in 2024 to guide CISA's cybersecurity efforts. The Committee will examine the development of a secure-by-design and secure-by-default technology ecosystem, an optimal state for operational cyber defense collaboration, opportunities to promote cybersecurity and resilience efforts across critical infrastructure partners and in relation to the People's Republic of China's goals and targets, migration toward open source security software, and advancing CISA's communications efforts to the American people.

The Committee established the following subcommittees to examine these topics:

- Building Resilience for Critical Infrastructure;
- Optimizing CISA's Cyber Operational Collaboration Platform;
- Secure by Design;
- Strategic Communications; and
- Technical Advisory Council.



COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Chair - Mr. Ron Green, Mastercard Fellow, Mastercard

Vice Chair - Mr. Dave DeWalt, Chief Executive Officer and Founder, NightDragon

Ms. Marene Allison, Former Chief Information Security Officer, Former Johnson & Johnson

Ms. Lori Beer, Global Chief Information Officer, JPMorgan Chase

Mr. Brian Gragnolati, President and Chief Executive Officer, Atlantic Health System

Mr. Royal Hansen, Vice President of Privacy, Safety, and Security Engineering, Google

Ms. Niloofar Razi Howe, Board Member, Tenable

Mr. Chris Inglis, Former National Cyber Director, Former Office of the National Cyber Director

Mr. Rahul Jalali, Senior Vice President and Chief Information Officer, Union Pacific

Mr. Jim Langevin, Former Member of Congress, Former U.S. House of Representatives

Ms. Cathy Lanier, Chief Security Officer and Senior Vice President, National Football League

Mr. Doug Levin, Co-Founder and National Director, K12 Security Information eXchange (K12 SIX)

Mr. Kevin Mandia, Chief Executive Officer, Mandiant

Mr. Ciaran Martin, Former Chief Executive Officer, National Cyber Security Centre

Mr. Jeff Moss, President, DEFCON Communications

Ms. Nicole PerIroth, Cybersecurity Journalist, Former New York Times Reporter

Mr. Ted Schlein, General Partner, Kleiner Perkins

Mr. Robert Scott, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Environment Services

Ms. Suzanne Spaulding, Senior Advisor for Homeland Security, Center for Strategic and International Studies

Mr. George Stathakopoulos, Vice President of Corporate Information Security, Apple

Mr. Kevin Tierney, Chief Cybersecurity Officer and Vice President, General Motors

Mr. Alex Tosheff, Former Senior Vice President and Chief Security Officer, Former VMware

Ms. Nicole Wong, Principal, NWong Strategies