

CISA CYBERSECURITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

CISA CYBERSECURITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE FACTSHEET

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) Cybersecurity Advisory Committee provides the CISA Director with recommendations on matters related to the development, refinement, and implementation of policies, programs, planning, and training pertaining to the cybersecurity mission of the Agency.

Background

The National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2021, P.L. 116-283 (<u>https://www.congress.gov/bill/116th-congress/house-bill/6395/text</u>) directed the Secretary of Homeland Security to establish a Cybersecurity Advisory Committee within CISA. The Committee was formally established in June 2021.

Purpose

The CISA Cybersecurity Advisory Committee provides independent, strategic, and actionable consensus recommendations to the CISA Director on a range of cybersecurity issues, topics, and challenges, including but not limited to: information exchange; critical infrastructure; risk management; and public and private partnerships. The CISA Cybersecurity Advisory Committee meets at least twice per year to discuss its activities.

Composition

The CISA Director may appoint up to 35 members to the Committee. CISA's Director, Jen Easterly, has appointed 22 members to the Committee and will appoint future members to represent additional perspectives and expertise. Members can be reappointed for an unlimited number of terms. The Committee Chair and Vice Chair each serve for a term of two years.

Current Activities

The CISA Cybersecurity Advisory Committee held its first meeting on December 10, 2021. At the meeting, the Committee elected Mr. Thomas Fanning, CEO of Southern Company, to serve as the Committee's Chair and Mr. Ron Green, Chief Security Officer of Mastercard, to serve as the Committee's Vice Chair.

Also at the meeting, the Director tasked the Committee with six key issues in support of CISA's cybersecurity efforts:

- Transforming the Cyber Workforce;
- Turning the Corner on Cyber Hygiene;
- Technical Advisory Council;
- Protecting Critical Infrastructure from Misinformation and Disinformation;
- Building Resilience and Reducing Systemic Risk to Critical Infrastructure; and
- Strategic Communications.

The Committee has established subcommittees to examine these topics.



CISA **CYBERSECURITY ADVISORY** COMMITTEE

COMMITTEE MEMBERS

<u>Chair</u> Mr. Thomas Fanning Chairman, President, and CEO Southern Company

Mr. Steve Adler Mayor Austin, Texas

Ms. Marene Allison **Chief Information Security Officer** Johnson & Johnson

Ms. Lori Beer **Chief Information Officer** JPMorgan Chase

Mr. Robert Chesney James A. Baker III Chair in the Rule of Law and World Affairs University of Texas School of Law

Ms. Vijaya Gadde Legal, Public Policy & Trust and Safety Lead Twitter

Ms. Niloofar Razi Howe **Board Member** Tenable

Mr. Kevin Mandia **Chief Executive Officer** Mandiant

Vice Chair Mr. Ron Green **Executive Vice President and Chief Security Officer** Mastercard

Mr. Jeff Moss President **DEF CON Communications**

Ms. Nuala O'Connor **Digital Citizenship** Walmart

Ms. Nicole Perlroth Cybersecurity Journalist

Mr. Matthew Prince **Chief Executive Officer** Cloudflare

Mr. Ted Schlein **General Partner** Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers

Mr. Stephen Schmidt Chief Security Officer Amazon Web Services

Ms. Suzanne Spaulding Senior Advisor for Homeland Security Center for Strategic and International Studies

Mr. Alex Stamos Partner Krebs Stamos Group

Dr. Kate Starbird Senior Vice President & Chief Counsel, Associate Professor, Human Centered **Design & Engineering** University of Washington

> Mr. George Stathakopoulos Vice President of Corporate Information Security Apple

> Ms. Alicia Tate-Nadeau Director Illinois Emergency Management Agency

Ms. Nicole Wong Principal **NWong Strategies**

Mr. Chris Young **Executive Vice President of Business** Development, Strategy, and Ventures Microsoft