3rd Annual National Cybersecurity Summit

CISA Virtual CyberSummit Banner


Event Date: October 7, 2020 |  12:00 p.m. ET

The 2020 Cybersummit will be held virtually as a series of webinars every Wednesday for four weeks beginning September 16 and ending October 7. Each series will have a different theme that focuses on CISA’s mission to “Defend Today, Secure Tomorrow,” with presentations from targeted leaders across government, academia, and industry. The Day 4 video will stream beginning at noon on October 7. 

This video stream also available directly on YouTube

Day Four: Defending Our Democracy, October 7

Reagan said “Democracy is not a fragile flower; still it needs cultivating.” Today’s version may say “still, it needs defending.” Threats to our democracy abound and have evolved over the past several years. What elements of our democracy require defense in cybersecurity? What are the various responsibilities and to whom are they assigned? And how do all the disparate parties work together to form an effect defense against those who would do us harm?

What's Happening and When

Antonio "T" Scurlock - CISA Deputy Chief Learning Officer (Moderator).  Daily Keynote - Session Participant: Chad F.  Wolf - Acting Secretary for Homeland Security.  Elections in the COVID-19 Era: Managing Risk in a Dynamic Environment - Session Participants: Ben Hovland - U.S. Election Assistance Commission (Moderator), Michael Adams - Secretary of State, Kentucky, Karen Brinson Bell - North Carolina State Board of Elections, Brian Hancock - SCC Chairman.   Media Panel, Cyber and Elections Beat - Session Participants: Ellen Nakashima - Washington Post (Moderator), Pam Fessler - NPR, Alexa Corse - Wall Street Journal.  Vulnerability Disclosure Policy - Session Participants: Spencer Wood - Secretary of State CIO, Ohio (Moderator), Jack Cable - CISA, Chris Wlaschin - CISO Elections Systems and Software, Joshua Franklin - Election Assistance Commission, Chloe Messdaghi - Point3 Security.  Federal Insights - Session Participants: Jermaine Roebuck - CISA (Moderator), Cynthia W. Kaiser - FBI, David Imbordino - NSA, BG William Hartman, U.S. Cyber Command.  Vignette - Session Participants: Maggie Toulouse-Oliver - New Mexico Secretary of State, President of National Association of Secretaries of State.  Combatting Disinformation and Misinformation in Elections - Session Participants: Olivia Gazis - CBS (Moderator), Alex Stamos - Stanford University, Clint Watts - Foreign Policy Research Institute, George Washington University, Laura Rosenberger - Alliance for Securing Democracy, German Marshall Fund, Jorhena Thomas - American University.  2020 Campain Security - Session Participants: Suzanne Spaulding - CSIS (Moderator), Michael Kaiser - Defending Digital Campaigns, Debora Plunkett - Defending Digital Campaigns, Ginny Badanes - Microsoft, Andrea Holtermann - Google.  Closing Capstone - Session Participant: Christopher Krebs - CISA Director

Watch virtually beginning at noon on October 7!

Was this document helpful?  Yes  |  Somewhat  |  No