Note: This page is part of the archive.

Archived Content

In an effort to keep current, the archive contains outdated information that may not reflect current policy or programs.

Stakeholder Risk Assessment and Mitigation

The Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Cybersecurity Advisors (CSAs) offer assistance to help prepare and protect private sector entities and State, Local, Tribal and Territorial (SLTT) governments from cybersecurity threats. CSAs promote cybersecurity preparedness, risk mitigation, and incident response capabilities, working to engage stakeholders through partnership and direct assistance activities.

CSAs are distributed personnel assigned to 10 regions throughout the U.S., which are aligned to the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) regions. CSAs engage organizations in order to cultivate partnerships, deliver cybersecurity services, and create channels of communication to DHS cyber programs and Department leadership.

Cybersecurity Advisors Services

  1. Cyber Preparedness: On-site meetings to answer questions, exchange ideas and information, and address concerns about cybersecurity — promoting best practices, resources, and partnership experiences.  
  2. Strategic Messaging: Briefings, keynotes, and panel discussions delivered to help improve cybersecurity awareness and organizations’ cybersecurity posture — including timely and relevant information on DHS services and operational activities.
  3. Working Group Support: Workshops to join stakeholders in existing cybersecurity initiatives and groups to enhance information sharing — improving policy, procedures, and best practice, and facilitating lessons-learned.
  4. Partnership Development: Engagements to build and mature local and regional cybersecurity private-public partnerships, and move partnerships from awareness building to operational capabilities.
  5. Cyber Assessments, CSAs conduct the following:
    1. Cyber Infrastructure Survey (CIS): Survey focused on over 80 cybersecurity controls in five domains, resulting in an interactive decision support resource.
    2. Cyber Resilience Review (CRR): Strategic evaluation that assesses cybersecurity management capabilities and maturity as applied to protect critical information technology (IT) services.
    3. External Dependency Management (EDM): Assessment of the management activities and practices utilized to identify, analyze, and reduce risks arising from third parties.
  6. Incident Coordination and Support: Activities to facilitate cyber incident response and to coordinate information requests in times of increased threat, disruption, and attack.

Contact Information

For a comprehensive review of services and packages the CSA program offers please visit

For more information about the CSA Program or to inquire about your region’s CSA, please email

Was this webpage helpful?  Yes  |  Somewhat  |  No