Securing Federal Networks

The federal enterprise depends on information technology (IT) systems and computer networks for essential operations. These systems face large and diverse cyber threats that range from unsophisticated hackers to technically competent intruders using state-of-the-art intrusion techniques. Many malicious attacks are designed to steal information and disrupt, deny access to, degrade, or destroy critical information systems.

The Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency (CISA) works with each federal civilian department and agency to promote the adoption of common policies and best practices that are risk-based and able to effectively respond to the pace of ever-changing threats. As systems are protected, alerts can be issued at machine speed when events are detected to help protect networks across the government information technology enterprise and the private sector. This enterprise approach will help transform the way federal civilian agencies manage cyber networks through strategically sourced tools and services that enhance the speed and cost effectiveness of federal cybersecurity procurements and allow consistent application of best practices.

National Cybersecurity Protection System (NCPS)

The mission of DHS’s Network Security Deployment (NSD) division is to improve cybersecurity to federal departments, agencies, and partners by developing the technologies and establishing the services needed to fulfill CS&C’s cybersecurity mission. To meet that mission need, NSD designs, develops, deploys, and sustains the National Cybersecurity Protection System (NCPS), which provides intrusion detection, advanced analytics, information sharing, and intrusion prevention capabilities that combat and mitigate cyber threats to the Federal Executive Branch information and networks.

NCPS is an integrated system-of-systems that delivers a range of capabilities, including intrusion detection, analytics, intrusion prevention, and information sharing. These capabilities provide a technological foundation that enables DHS to secure and defend the federal civilian government’s information technology infrastructure against advanced cyber threats. NCPS advances DHS’s responsibilities as delineated in the Comprehensive National Cybersecurity Initiative.

One of DHS’s key technologies within the NCPS is EINSTEIN. The goal of the NCPS EINSTEIN set of capabilities is to provide the federal government with an early warning system, improved situational awareness of intrusion threats to federal civilian Executive Branch networks, near real-time identification of malicious cyber activity, and prevention of that malicious cyber activity.

Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation (CDM)

DHS’s Continuous Diagnostics and Mitigation (CDM) program is a dynamic approach to fortifying the cybersecurity of government networks and systems. CDM provides federal departments and agencies with capabilities and tools that identify cybersecurity risks on an ongoing basis, prioritize these risks based upon potential impacts, and enable cybersecurity personnel to mitigate the most significant problems first. Congress established the CDM program to provide adequate, risk-based, and cost-effective cybersecurity and more efficiently allocate cybersecurity resources.

National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC)

DHS’s National Cybersecurity and Communications Integration Center (NCCIC) mission is to reduce the risk of systemic cybersecurity and communications challenges in our role as the Nation's flagship cyber defense, incident response, and operational integration center.

Since 2009, the NCCIC has served as a national hub for cyber and communications information, technical expertise, and operational integration, and by operating our 24/7 situational awareness, analysis, and incident response center. The NCCIC shares information among the public and private sectors to provide greater understanding of cybersecurity and communications situation awareness of vulnerabilities, intrusions, incidents, mitigation, and recovery actions.

NCCIC brings advanced network and digital media analysis expertise to bear on malicious activity targeting our nation’s networks. US-CERT develops timely and actionable information for distribution to federal departments and agencies, state and local governments, private sector organizations, and international partners. In addition, NCCIC operates the NCPS, which provides intrusion detection and prevention capabilities to covered federal departments and agencies.

Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) Reporting

DHS works collaboratively with federal agencies to build upon the metrics established in previous fiscal years and incorporates updates to ease Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA) reporting. Current year FISMA documents can be found here.

High Value Asset Program Management Office (HVA PMO)

The Federal High Value Asset (HVA) Program Management Office (PMO) is responsible for ensuring the Federal Civilian Government’s most critical information systems, or HVA systems, are accurately identified, prioritized, and protected against evolving cyber threats. To achieve this vision, the PMO focuses on three primary goals:

  • Ensure the most critical information systems are identified as High Value Assets for adequate protection
  • Provide visibility into cybersecurity posture of High Value Assets to Authorizing Officials and relevant stakeholders
  • Establish effective and efficient whole-of-government approach to securing the most critical information systems
Last Updated Date: July 24, 2020

Was this document helpful?  Yes  |  Somewhat  |  No