Infrastructure Security

Critical infrastructure describes the physical and cyber systems and assets that are so vital to the United States that their incapacity or destruction would have a debilitating impact on our physical or economic security or public health or safety. The Nation's critical infrastructure provides the essential services that underpin American society.

Chemical Security

Chemical Security

Hometown Security

Hometown Security

Active Shooter Preparedness

Active Shooter Preparedness

Risk Assessments

Risk Assessments

School Safety

School Safety and Security

Core Services and Capabilities

DHS works with businesses, communities, and government partners at all levels to provide training and other tools and resources related to critical infrastructure security. Efforts focus around raising awareness among the broader community on the need for critical infrastructure security and resilience and enhancing their current efforts. Public-private partnerships are vital to this effort as everyone has a role in securing the Nation’s critical infrastructure. CISA delivers its infrastructure security services and capabilities to public and private sector stakeholders at both the national level, through its headquarters, and nationwide, through its 10 regions.


DHS conducts assessments on infrastructure and communities to help businesses and local government officials make decisions about where to put resources to enhance security before an event and improve recovery after an event.

Information Sharing

When an event or attack occurs that affects our Nation’s critical infrastructure, every second makes a difference. Thus, DHS plays a vital role in sharing information with both public and private sector partners that is essential to the Nation’s security and resilience. CISA shares information online through portals like HSIN-CI and Gateway, as well as through meetings, conference calls, and classified briefings with partners.

Training and Exercises

CISA provides training on a range of topics related to critical infrastructure security, including bombing prevention and active shooter preparedness. Subject matter experts deliver the training through a variety of means, including independent study courses, virtual instructor-led training, and in-person classroom training.  Additionally, CISA facilitates exercises at the community level, in collaboration with state, local, tribal, territorial and private sector partners.

Sector Partnerships

The protection of the Nation's critical infrastructure requires effective partnerships that foster integrated, collaborative engagement and interaction among public and private sector partners across all 16 critical infrastructure sectors.

Both the government and private sectors have formed partnerships under a sector coordinating council structure to fulfill our shared responsibility to prevent and reduce the risks of disruptions to critical infrastructure. Together, public-private efforts to strengthen critical infrastructure help the public sector to enhance security and rapidly respond to, and recover from, all-hazards events and help the private sector restore business operations and minimize losses in the face of such an event.

Securing Soft Targets and Crowded Places

CISA is prioritizing soft target and crowded places security. The government, law enforcement, owners and operators of public venues and events, and the public all share responsibility for securing soft targets and crowded places. Together, we have the power to stop attacks before they occur by investing in security, sharing information, enhancing preparedness, and staying vigilant. While we many not prevent every attack, we can prevent many from succeeding through focused security and preparedness efforts.

Chemical Security

The Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standards Program focuses on security at high-risk chemical facilities. CISA works with facilities to ensure they have security measures in place to reduce the risks associated with certain hazardous chemicals and prevent them from being exploited in a terrorist attack.

Federal Facility Security

The Interagency Security Committee’s (ISC) mission is to enhance the quality and effectiveness of physical security in and the protection of buildings and nonmilitary federal facilities in the United States. The ISC standards apply to all nonmilitary federal facilities in the United States—whether government-owned, leased, or managed; to be constructed or modernized; or to be purchased.

Chief security officers and other senior executives from 60 federal agencies and departments make up the ISC membership. Leadership is provided by the chair, who is the Department's Assistant Secretary for Infrastructure Protection, the Program Director, and eight standing subcommittees.

    Last Updated Date: September 10, 2019

    Was this document helpful?  Yes  |  Somewhat  |  No